Lecture Series

Our fall Lecture Series celebrates 30 years of essential contributions to moving-image culture that alums from the Department of Film, Video, New Media, and Animation (FVNMA) at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago (SAIC) have produced. The department has helped produce eleven Guggenheim Fellows as well as multiple film festival winners, including the Palme D'Or at the Cannes Film Festival, and top prizes at Cinema Du Reel, the Berlin Film Festival, and the Montreal Film Festival, among many others. 

FVNMA at SAIC has been central to the development of highly influential positions in the field of independent and experimental media. The international character of the department has been singularly essential to those positions, as the cultural diversity of the community produced the necessity for expanding practices beyond specific cultural conditions, languages, or customs; driving many working procedures towards expansive trans-cultural practices.

The class will frame specific issues relating to non-fiction moving-image practice such as the multiple valences of the archive; the question of the document; the recuperation of repressed histories; the poetics of subjective perspectives within communal experience; and technological adaptation, to name a few.  These topics will frame conversations with our alumni who have extended these themes over the last decades in their own work and practice. This approach traces a through-line from late 20th century media practices to current modes of production, giving particular emphasis to the ways independent moving image makers have both changed the conventions of filmmaking and adapted to the digital turn of the 21st century. (Daniel Eisenberg) 

Runs through December 12. Lecturer: Daniel Eisenberg, SAIC Professor of Film, Video, New Media, and Animation.

Member Series Pass
Attend the series at a discounted rate - exclusively for Film Center members.
The pass provides access to all 14 screenings with post-film lectures for a special $98 rate.
Purchase your pass today!