About the Festival

The Black Harvest Film Festival, taking place November 4 - 27, 2022, is Chicago’s annual showcase for films that celebrate, explore and share the Black, African American and African Diaspora experience. The Festival curates both short and feature length films, proudly presenting influential auteurs and emerging filmmakers of color side by side. Each year since 1994, the Black Harvest film Festival has presented a vibrant celebration of independent films that tell the stories and explore the images, heritage, and history of the worldwide Black experience.

Black Harvest Community Council
Adrianna Silver Chicago Cares
Alessandra Pinkston Filmmaker
Annette Galloway Filmmaker
Barbara Allen Filmmaker
Cheryl Petratos Filmmaker/BGG Productions
D'Tura Hale Filmmaker
David Weathersby Filmmaker
Daryl Sledge Film and Theater Producer
Derek Dow Filmmaker
Derek Grace Grace Media Group
Djalaal Gene Siskel Film Center volunteer
Donnie Smith Donda's House
Eleva Singleton Filmmaker/Hermes
Felicia Mings The Art Institute of Chicago
Gwen Satterfield Chicago School of Professional Psychology
Harold Dennis Actor in film, stage, and TV
Jackie Samuel National Louis University
Kamau Tyehimba Reel Black Filmmakers
Kayo Williams Kayquarii Productions
Keisha Chavers Chair, Black Harvest Community Council; Coordinator, Best of Black Harvest; Marketing Consultant
Keisha Nickole Actress, Production Manager, Producer
Kenny Johnson  
Kristy Johnson ImageNation Cinema Foundation
Lawrence Lee Wallace Deep Productions Studios
Lonnie Edwards Filmmaker
Cheryl Rayner  
Loris Rayner Pediatrician
Marcus Spearman BMO Harris Bank; Board Member, Garfield Park Conservatory Alliance
Michael Foster The Whitehall Hotel
Monique Smith Filmmaker
Muteeat Lawal Community volunteer
N.K. Gutierrez Filmmaker
Okema "Seven" Gunn Blogger, film critic & filmmaker
Patricia Mosley CME Group
Ramsey Carey Goodman Theatre
Raymond Lambert Filmmaker/Author/Founder of "All Jokes Aside"
Sergio Mims Consultant, Black Harvest Film Festival
Sierra Jackson Artist
Ted Crowder  
Talle Laosebikan  
Troy Pryor Actor/producer, Creative Cypher
Vivienne Bailey  
GSFC Advisory Board
  • Ellen Sandor, Advisory Board Chair
  • Kristin L. Anderson
  • Jose Cerda III
  • Dr. Judith Cothran
  • Natalie Crawford
  • Michelle Cucchiaro
  • Eda Davidman
  • Robert Downey, Jr.
  • Susan Downey
  • Charles R. Droege
  • Eliot Ephraim
  • Melissa Sage Fadim
  • David Hundley
  • Marlene Iglitzen
  • Ellen Kollar
  • Rosanne Levin
  • Averill Leviton
  • Margaret MacLean
  • David E. Martin
  • Ingrida Martinkus
  • Felicia Middlebrooks
  • Marcel Munoz
  • Marisa Murillo
  • Edward Siskel
  • Bolaji Sosan
  • Elissa Tenny
  • Roopa P. Weber
  • Joshua Yates
Festival Sponsors & Partners

Executive Producer Sponsor

  • Gilead

Celebrity Sponsors

  • ComEd
  • BMO Harris

Foundation and Government Support

  • Illinois Arts Council Agency
  • National Endowment for the Arts
  • The Richard and Ellen Sandor Family Foundation

Hospitality Sponsors

  • The Renaissance Hotel Chicago
  • The Godfrey Hotel Chicago
  • The Wit
  • JW Marriott Chicago

Premier Television Broadcast Sponsors

  • NBC 5 Chicago
  • WTTW

Festival Partners

  • The Chicago Reader
  • WBEZ Chicago
  • Second City Chicago
  • Akasuba
  • The Bulletin

Special Thanks

  • Felicia Middlebrooks
  • Amina Dickerson
  • The Lloyd A. Fry Foundation